Holy Orders

In the Gospel of Luke, Jesus reveals himself at the synagogue through his reading of the following passage from Chapter 61 of Isaiah:

"The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring glad tidings to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to captives, and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free and to proclaim a year acceptable to the Lord."

After reading this passage, Jesus said "Today, this scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing." (Luke 4:21)

The US Catholic Catechism for Adults states:

"From the moment of Jesus' conception in the womb of Mary until his Resurrection, he was filled with the Holy Spirit. In biblical language, he was anointed by the Holy Spirit and thus established by God the Father as our high priest. As Risen Lord, he remains our high priest. . . . By Baptism, all the members of the Church share in Christ's holy priesthood. It is called "the common priesthood of the faithful" because the entire Church shares in it. To build up his priesthood, Christ gives to his Church the ordained ministries of bishops, priests, and deacons through the Sacrament of Holy Orders. . . .The ordained bishop and priest serve the Church in the person of Christ as head of the Body.

 . . . Those who seek priesthood respond generously to God's call using the words of the prophet, "Here I am, send me" (Is 6:8)."




Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana Office of Vocations

Permanent Diaconate

Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana Office of the Permanent Diaconate

Roman Catholic Vocations
Priest Appreciation
Why Not Priest?
The Holy See's Congregation for the Clergy
Vocation Quest for Women
What Vocation?

Other Helpful Links

Heroic Priesthood

Video about Vocations